Reliving The Past

One of the 1980’s drug education scare tactics to keep kids like me from trying LSD was that users would suffer flashbacks. You would be driving on the road and all of a sudden Blue Meanies from the Beatles’ animated movie, The Yellow Submarine would be attacking you.

Lately, I have been suffering flashbacks. There have been no animated characters in my peripheral vision, I am sorry to say. They have been flashbacks of the type used as a storytelling device in the movies. I will be minding my own business and I will suddenly remember the scent of the grill at the long closed down drug store where I would buy candy. I will be walking down a hallway at a school where I am teaching and I will continue a thought I began in 1991. My mind is in the past while my body stays here in the present heading toward a future.

We are often told that before we die our life flashes before our eyes. Just in case I have been looking both ways before I cross the street. Should I be planning to whom I will bequeath my estate?

2 thoughts on “Reliving The Past

  1. So when the flashbacks happen, do you hear that noice from LOST first too?lol

    Just think what it will be like when you have a flashforward or flashsideways???

    I don’t think you’re about to get hit by a bus or anything, but maybe just missing the simpler things in life. Your mind is trying to get you to slow down, take a deep breath, smell the roses, and every other cliche you can think of. Sometimes you just need that.

    But in case a meteor crashes into your home and takes most of L.A. with it, I would like to have all of your best Fantasy Football players because mine suck!!! Please sign that and send it in triplicut, ok?lol

Leave a Reply

