Merci Beaucoup

Just like the pilgrims who sailed the vast Atlantic Ocean in time for a late November feast, I too made an arduous autumn pilgrimage across a massive portion of the globe. On my long drive East from Los Angeles to Miami (which you will soon enough read about in nauseating detail right here) I had a lot of time to think about how fortunate I am. And so much like those people on Facebook who enjoy sharing with acquaintances and Facebook friends how they are enjoying a glass of red wine with a beautiful sunset while listening to the soulful tunes of Justin Bieber, I too will now brag about the things I am thankful for in my wonderful life.

1) That my 1999 Ford Explorer made it from the West Coast to the East Coast with nothing more serious than a check engine light coming on.

2) That there’s so much beauty and wild nature still lurking in the corners of this country. In spite of our doing our best to ruin the planet with oil spills and factory farms, the planet is still big enough to house natural wonders. From the rocky cliffs to the white sand beaches to the rugged forests to the shaded bayous this land was made for you and me.

3) That complete strangers will still take the time to give you directions in a much friendlier tone than a GPS ever would.

4) That the nation’s eating habits have changed enough in the past decade so that a vegan city boy can still find something to eat even in the great state of Texas.

5) That the doctor said my wrist made so full a recovery that he couldn’t tell from the x-ray where the fracture in my wrist exactly was.

6) That the rest of me isn’t feeling too shabby either.

7) That I’m surrounded wherever I go by so many groovy people who are willing to put up with my snarky comments, bad jokes, curmudgery, and body odor.

Happy Thanksgiving and make sure to treat whoever feeds you much better than the Pilgrims did!

One thought on “Merci Beaucoup

Leave a Reply

