Guns Don’t Kill People, People With Guns Do

The cover of the newspaper on Tuesday featured the face of a madman. It was the mug shot of Jared Lee Loughner, the mentally ill murderer of at least six people in Tucson, Arizona. This man was able to legally purchase a semi-automatic weapon, a  9mm Glock model 19 pistol with a 30-round magazine that allowed his bullets to pierce the body of twenty different people before anyone could react. Meanwhile pundits are blaming knuckleheads like Sarah Palin and Glenn Beck for spreading partisan hatred, but the news is avoiding the obvious reason  for this mass murder.

Guns.

I know all my readers who are registered members of the NRA are up in outrage. “You goddamned pinko, you can pry my gun from my cold dead hands.” But there is really no good reason why guns should be legal. They’re glamorous and every good movie needs them , but in real life all firearms cause are death and misery.

“But the second amendment gives us the right to bear arms.” The Constitution also gave us the right to own slaves, which most people will agree isn’t really right. I can not understand why words written over 220 years ago still serve as canon. At least religious zealots, believe their text is the word of God. Even the strictest constitutionalist accepts that Thomas Jefferson possessed no supernatural powers.

“We need the right to defend ourselves.” Yes, it is true if guns are illegal only criminals will have guns. But they will be much harder to obtain and your garden variety schizophrenic will have a much harder time making the contacts to purchase such a weapon.

“We need to defend ourselves from the government.” I love the idea of rebellion, but as much as I hate to admit it, you and your militia will probably lose against the United States military.

“What about my hunting?” Yeah, I’m a lilly livered vegan, so I’m against the killing of animals. If you’re going to do it, why don’t you man up and use a crossbow or Bowie knife. Give the animal a fighting chance in this sport.

For all the thrill firing live ammo might provide, the downside doesn’t make it worth it. I’ve yet to hear a story that ended well when a gun was involved.

2 thoughts on “Guns Don’t Kill People, People With Guns Do

  1. I have to admit, I myself am a gun owner. I have two:

    .357 Magnum, 6 shot

    .40 Calibur Beretta 10 shot, semi-auto

    And to date both have been fired ZERO times!

    Why do I have them you might ask? I’d have to go with the glamour effect of watching Bruce Willis, Mel Gibson, Danny Glover, and a host of others use such weapons in some of my favorite action films growing up as a kid. But, as of right now, I have no intentions of ever using them…unless of course there’s a zombie plague, the local Megachurch in my area goes Waco, or the Antichrist appears…of which all are remote in the extreme, but I’m still counting on zombies to show up!

    I don’t wanna get off on a rant, but In both cases when I purchased these rather elaborate dust collectors, I full well expected to have a waiting period on my guns, particularly since both are hand guns. Little did I know, that 7 day waiting period was amended and the day I bought both of my guns, I WALKED OUT OF THE STORE WITH THEM. Now suppose I decided to take that .357 and blow someone away right after that? Or maybe go shoot up a bus full of nuns with my Beretta? I could have, that was the point. No one did a “thorough” background check, other than to make sure I had good credit since I was doing a payment plan on them at the time, and I didn’t have to wait. Heck, I didn’t even PAY ANY MONEY for the guns, simply chose to make payments for a year. Now they would have been able to trace the guns back to me, but you don’t even have to actually BUY a gun, just say that you WILL pay for it and IT’S YOURS! Might as well say to the psychopath, “Sign your name here, and have fun shooting up your classmates!”

    So yes, better regulations might help, but that still won’t change the fact a nut job can buy a gun. In fact, waiting 7 days might only fuel their rage more, whereas a rational human being would just forget the whole idea in a weeks time. And they probably wouldn’t even want the gun anymore.

    But zealots, as you mentioned, do like to hold to amendments and testiments especially that have no bearing on the current world today. If that amendment is still present about the slaves, SHOOT I’m buying me some Mexicans for the summer time! You know that one is gone, so why not look into some of the other more outdated ideals present there within. Let’s remember, this document was chartered during a time where your neighbor might actually walk up to you and try to kill you for being a traitor to the King or being for the King, and I don’t mean Elvis. After 200 years, I think it is time to adjust that. Maybe still make it legal to bear arms, but only after passing rigorous sets of psychological profiling exams, some so challenging that the person might actually forget what they are testing for in the first place. If everyone had to walk into a store and provide finger prints, a mug shot and be interrogated by a police officer before purchasing a gun, then gun sales would decrease exponentially.

    As far as hunting, I’m not of the mind to hunt defenseless animals. I have a “Predator” mentality when it comes to hunting: if it can’t fight back, or is vulnerable in some way, then you do the honorable thing and let it live. DNR would say it’s “animal control”, but so was Auschwitz according to the Nazis. And judging by the number of dead, mutilated deer I see on the sides of roads in my hometown after having been hit by a bus/minivan/SUV, I’d say the vast majority of these so called “hunters” SUCK!

    But that’s just my opinion, I could be wrong…(Dennis Miller rules!)

  2. Well, as far as the hunting . . . Often bow or other primitive style hunters often wind up doing much worse than those with guns. They maim the animal and then it gets away, to die a slow painful death and the hunter doesn’t even get the meat. This is all too common when people put into practice this idea that seems logical from the outside, that it is best to hunt with a bow.

Leave a Reply

