The Least Controversial Person In The World

I had to pick up some people at the airport that I had never met. Over the telephone I asked one of the guys I was picking up what he and the people in his group looked like so I could identify them. For some reason he didn’t describe himself, but began to awkwardly describe another of his companions as being tall, wearing  a baseball cap and a gray shirt. The airport was relatively empty, so I spotted the strangers easily, but I found it funny that he didn’t mention the tall guy with the gray shirt and cap was Black. Wouldn’t it have been easier to say, “We’re two short white guys and a tall Black dude”?

Maybe since he didn’t know me he thought  I would be offended that he was able to differentiate skin tones.

Leave a Reply

