Happy Thanksgiving

Thanksgiving used to be one of my favorite holidays. Four days off coming from the middle of nowhere. Football games with friends to be played in the middle of a weekday. Lot and lots of food to eat.

As a vegan I am more conflicted about what is affectionately known as turkey day (even though it really is everyone’s, but the turkey’s day). I am thankful that I have been fortunate in that every year I have been invited to a dinner with generous vegan selections. This year I am not sure of what I will be eating, only that it will be at a very far location.

My little sister is getting married Thanksgiving Day and so I begin a pilgrimage from an island in the Atlantic all the way to an island in the Pacific. I, along with the family and the love interest, are going to Hawaii for this festive occasion. Far away from pilgrims, Indians, parades, and maybe even Internet access. And so reader, I will have to leave you alone for the weekend. I learned my lesson not to let two-faced interns like Luis Refresca to have control of this site without my ever watchful eye on them.

If you find yourself bored there are plenty of words on this website ready to be reread by clicking on the months to the right of this page. You can also start reading my novel Deadbeat. If you haven’t bought it yet, click here to buy it now.   If you already bought it, thank you, and be aware it makes a fine Chanukah and Christmas present. Although it will probably be inappropriate for Kwanza.

I wish you all well and am thankful that you take time out of your busy lives to read my musings. Enjoy your tofurkeys while I go get lei’d.

One thought on “Happy Thanksgiving

  1. Happy Thanksgiving to you too, Pablo. We saw the Tofurkey on an Everyone Loves Raymond episode last night, and it was hilarious. But hey, to each his own.

    A point of note, while you’re gone to this wedding, don’t be too shocked when I have reclaimed first place in our fantasy league from you this week. Your streak is about to end, BOOOOOOOYEEE! And next week, IT’S ON BROTHA! Me vs. You!

    Have a safe trip and look forward to your musings when you return. Luis can go suck some chocolate salty balls!

Leave a Reply

