Cliché

“It is what it is.”

“What is?”

“What?”

“What is what it is?”

“It is what it is.”

“What the hell is it?”

“What is what?”

“Will you stop getting all Abbott and Costello on me.”

“You started it.”

“I couldn’t help myself. Being obnoxious seemed easier than holding an intervention to stop you from saying some meaningless catch phrase that has become all encompassing in our culture. I thought if I made anyone who said that stupid sentence self-conscious enough about the vapidity of those five words it might disappear. But you got my stress level up high enough that I don’t know if it’s worth it to protect the dumbing down of our language.”

“Sorry.”

“Sorry? Don’t you have anything else to say for yourself?”

“It is what it is.”

3 thoughts on “Cliché

Leave a Reply

