Sonic Baby Boom

I went to a Wilco concert the other night. It was great. They’re one of the last of my favorite bands that I can cross off my checklist for having finally seen live (Blur and Led Zepelin are the two most prominent possible members still active on said list). As I could see the wear and tear on singer, Jeff Tweedy’s face as he belted out his twangy, poetry about heavy metal drummers and impossible Germanys it got me thinking about my taste in music. Why have I yet to become a fan of a musician who is younger than me?

I’m 33. Jimi Hendrix, Jim Morrison, and Kurt Cobain all died when they were six years younger  than me. Where are their counterparts? Why do I continue to only listen to the voices of my elders?

Maybe it’s a jealousy thing where I’m thinking I should be on that stage instead of them. But I’ve been comfortable rooting for young bucks in the arena of sports where my adulation for Glen Rice and Dan Marino continued toward those born after 1978 like LeBron James and Dwyane Wade.

But my fandom for post 1978  musicians is extremely limited. I got into the Strokes a bit and they’re a couple years younger than me. MGMT at the very least looked young. I also played a lot of the Dodos album  and they’re just out of puberty. But I don’t have that, “got to hear it, need to hear it now” sensation for any of these whippersnappers.

Maybe music only really hits you when you’re a teenager and I’ll be listening to the good time oldies station playing The Beastie Boys and Modest Mouse and heading to the race track to pay ten bucks to see an eighty year old Frank Black playing his hits.

One thought on “Sonic Baby Boom

  1. Just a sign of old age, my friend.lol Seriously, not sure why I’m not as interested in bands today as I was as a child or teenager. Mostly because all you hear on the radio is boy bands, hot chicks, or garbage these days. And have the well known performers started on American Idol, the ultimate in farse, or The Voice. Neither of which I pay any attention to. It’s kinda like hearing Green Day singing a song for today’s generation, but they were my teen generation 20 years ago. And, begging your pardon, Green Day is no Aerosmith that transcends generations. Just seemed weird hearing them in a Transformers movie with teens today instead of back in the 90’s when being blase was more prevalent, and it suited the generation with their antics and music. I personally think it’s also because since the 90’s no one has really had anything to genuinely fear the likes of which people in the 60’s, 70’s, and 80’s did, and even the 80’s were pushing it to be included. Music doesn’t speak to you anymore, it’s just background noise now. And I do mean noise. Course, that’s what parents said about heavy metal in the 80’s too. I personally think this generation today has nothing to sing about…

Leave a Reply

