Time Keeps Running Back

curious-case-benjamin-button

The passage of time has always bothered me. I like to agree with the laissez faire attitude that time is unreal, that age is just a number (or as some comedian pointed out wittily that rather it is just a word). But that reflection in the mirror ain’t the same person that was staring at me 20 or even 5 years ago. While I await the invention of a time machine outside the one in my head with all those memories I think I’m going to stay away from the boob tube.

The other day I was switching stations and I found myself staying on that old ’90’s sitcom Friends. It was an episode I’d seen before, but now in some horror story version of The Picture of Dorian Gray my perspective was all different. When I first saw the episode all the characters seemed so old. Now I’m watching the same episode and they all look so young.

Leave a Reply

