Nap Time

people-sleeping2

I have come to accept that nothing I will ever accomplish in this lifetime will be as rewarding as coaxing my daughter to sleep. To get that little break from her cries and from making sure she doesn’t crawl over and topple the bookcase some hard work must be done. She makes me earn every little respite.

For this girl does not do falling asleep on her own. Instead I must carry her until she deems it time to rest her eyes. Sometimes I try to sing to her that old song, “Hush little baby don’t say a word. Daddy’s going to buy you a mockingbird. And if that mockingbird don’t sing Daddy’s going to buy you a diamond ring.” Around here is when I don’t know the words any more, but it seems she is about to fall asleep, so I improvise, usually with “And if that diamond ring don’t shine Daddy’s going to buy you a gold mine and if that gold mine don’t pan out Daddy’s going to buy you the album with Twist and Shout. And if Twist & Shout isn’t good Daddy’s gong to say you’re rude.” When I run out of steam with coming up with new verses I’ll count one one thousand two one thousand usually up to thirty one thousand and then I’ll brave plopping her into the playpen.

More often then not lately I’m successful, but sometimes she’ll think I didn’t give the enterprise enough effort and wake up with a cry. Then I have to start the whole routine over again. The other treacherous aspect is the floorboards. Every other one creaks and I haven’t been able to memorize which spots not to step on, but finally she falls asleep and I get a moment of peace and… oh cripes, she’s up again.

2 thoughts on “Nap Time

  1. How sweet. You could always try the Howie Mandel version of the song. Goes something like this:
    “Hush little baby, don’t say a word. Daddy’s gonna buy you a mocking bird. And if that mocking bird don’t sing, I’m gonna grab it’s legs and I’ll break it’s wings.
    “Now that mocking bird can’t fly. So I’ll take a needle and I’ll jab’em in the eye.
    “Now that mocking bird can’t see. So I’ll grab it’s legs and I’ll break it’s knees.
    “Now that mocking bird is dead. So I asked my daddy for a parrot named Fred.
    “And of that parrot Fred can’t sing, I’m gonna kill it too!!!”
    It warms the heart. :). And no, it doesn’t work either…

Leave a Reply

