Southern Comfort – Part 3

dukes-of-hazzard_480x360

Click here to read part 1.

Click here to read part 2.

If our first road trip as a family taught me anything it’s how quickly time can pass. Not just our vacation, but life in general. In a blink of an eye the Chevy Chase role I most identified with went from Fletch to Clark Griswold. Even more Dad like I am oblivious to the fact that the movies I find myself referencing to are close to 30 years old. I have become the old man from my childhood who quoted Bob Hope movies.

As the driver of the car I liked to think that I was in charge and I suppose I was in some respects, deciding where we were going and how we were going to get there. But how long we stayed at each place was now completely out of my hands. If our daughter was not happy about her surroundings or at the very least sleeping at those surroundings we were not long for those surroundings.

Further inspired by Chevy Chase’s National Lampoon’s Vacation I figured no road trip would be complete without a visit to a cousin. So we invaded in Atlanta cousins who had a daughter the same age as ours. The highlight was probably the hilarity of both toddlers trying to dip snowpeas and chips into various salsas. It might not have reached Chevy Chase levels of humor, but it definitely surpassed any Bob Hope jokes. At least if you had a few beers in you.

We made a trip to the aquarium which I have mixed feelings about, not just as a vegan who feels awful for the animals trapped in captivity so we can get some giggles at how cute the whales and otters are, but more so because of the panic attacks the waiting in crowded lines to get into the place induced. I don’t think I’m yet man enough to attempt Disney World. Perhaps I never will be.

But as the last credit card charges come in for this trip that I’m recording for posterity that encompassed 2,000 miles in eight days covering five states, I’m looking forward to the sequels.

Leave a Reply

