MacGruber MacSnoozer

I’d feel guilty about writing a review about a movie I fell asleep in. But I have it on good authority that there’s a top film critic who is a narcoleptic. He sleeps through many a movie and still manages to get paid for his opinions. And since movie star James Franco fell asleep in a writing classes breaking the Writers/Movie Star Sleep Embargo Act of 1993 it’s only fair to let us still write our opinions on stinkfests like MacGruber.

MacGruber continues the mindnumbing tradition of turning a four minute Saurday Night Live sketch into a ninety minute movie. This practice started with a masterpiece in The Blues Brothers and slowly devolved into It’s Pat and could probably also be partially blamed with Hollywood’s love affair of turning any concept with a following into a high grossing movie from comic strips to board games.

So now we have MacGruber. A movie that’s supposed to be a parody of a 25 year old television show called MacGyver. But it more closely resembles Team America by following the beats of an action movie and throwing in lots of curse words to signify that it’s funny. Fuck! Shit! I’ll tear off your dick! I’ll let you fuck me up my ass. All this crass and homoerotic humor is real funny, isn’t it? Not when you’re trying to get some zzzzs.

I believe it was either Mark Twain or Karl Marx who said golf was a good walk ruined, if those masters of facial hair were with us today they’d call MacGruber a good nap interrupted.

Filmmakers of the world, let me give you some unsolicited advice. One note comedies based on a single joke belong in cinemas as much as millionaire movie stars belong in Ivy League PhD programs.

3 thoughts on “MacGruber MacSnoozer

  1. zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz…is all I have to say about this post. Not so much the post, but the movie the post is about. Not interested, waste of time, money, socioeconomic status, and popcorn!

    Yet another perfect example of the “Dumbing down of America” that Hollywood continues to exploit with a frenzy reminiscent of an untrade monkey wielding a light saber! May the farce be with them…NOT!

  2. I for one am glad for movies like this. If only to make GUT BUSTING reviews like this to be written! Yes, I was L-O-Ling my fucking ass off at the shit ! The movie itself would only be a let down. Nap or no nap.

Leave a comment